Home Page

All about the EYFS (Early Years Foundation Stage)


Here at Dunham on Trent Church of England Primary School in Class 1 Early Years Learning is at the centre of all we do. As your child passes through their different stages of development they will given opportunities to learn through play. Learning at Dunham on Trent C of E Primary School provides a rich and stimulating learning environment to allow children develop and grow.

EYFS pic

Areas of learning are taken from the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) which is the national framework for all children in the care of nurseries, preschools, childminders and is also the same framework used within Primary reception classes.

The areas of learning are:

  • communication and language
  • physical development
  • personal, social and emotional development
  • literacy
  • mathematics
  • understanding the world
  • expressive arts and design

For children under the age of three the focus of learning is on the three ‘prime areas’ which are; communication & language, physical development and personal, social & emotional development. These areas are the building blocks to enable children to develop and learn effectively to move on and be successful in mastering the other four areas later in their learning journey.  These four specific areas are   literacy; mathematics; expressive arts and design; and understanding the world. 


At all stages of learning your child will mostly be taught through games and play some of which will be adult led and structured and some of which will be child led and ‘exploration’ allowing children to develop their own ideas and fuel their imagination.

Underpinning all of the learning we encourage ‘British Values’ throughout school this  encourages us to respect each other and ourselves, sharing and being kind to our friends, being independent and exploring and understanding other cultures within Britain.

Mrs Brownlow and Mrs Cheyette hope your child/ children will enjoy the start of their learning journey with them.